Federico Leocata - Special for YooDj's

Federico Leocata – Special for YooDj’s


Federico Leocata is an italian audio-visual artist.
As a visual artist has exhibited in Athens, Thessaloniki and Catania, and then expand his artistic research in the field of sound, based on analysis within the human psyche. Discovered by Heinrich Mueller (Dopplereffekt, Drexciya), released his first EP in 2010 for the Belgian Weme, attracting the interest labels like Frustrated Funk and Last Known Trajectory. Federico makes scientific electro sinewaves with dark attitude and melodic outfit, his music comes in the folds of the mind. His performances consist of a live show where the sound and video works in sinergy.

— Hello, tell us please about yourself and your passion for music and in fact how it all began. Is your education related to music?
— It has been a gradual process: I have come closer to electronic music from a very young age, and then go to composition. I did not have any kind of music education, music composition was something spontaneous for me: I moved from the visual arts, especially the video installations, and then landed in the music industry with the help of Heinrich Mueller.

— What are you working on now and what are your plans for the near future?
— A new track will be released next month for the fifth “808 Box” of Alek Stark’s Fundamental Records, the video will be online on December 10th. In March will be released a split EP on Snuffo’s In The Dark Again. I’m working on a new project, unfortunately I’ve lost many months working for a big label that has disappeared: the A&R wanted to have a release on precise musical instructions, this kills creativity.

— Do you have any favorite electronic musicians and labels whose work inspires you?
— Essentially Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, John Carpenter, Drexciya, Bjork, Heinrich Mueller.

— Is it important for you, from which media to listen to? Is it necessarily with vinyl, or can it be with digital media? Do you collect vinyl?
— I prefer physical media such as vinyl and cds, I think every record has a story to tell from the physicality of the cover and of the artwork. We are in the Spotify era, music is getting more liquid, easy to reach, but the price to pay is the disappearance of magic.

— Tell us more about your videos, what their idea is and whether they have any particular message?
— As I said, I have a visual background: it’s natural for me to express an idea through different media. Before working on a project, I focus on the concept, which has to do with the unconscious and the human condition. The idea starts from certain bases, the message is subjective.

— Do you have any experience of cooperation with any artists?
— Just for vocals: Emma de Seze, Beta Evers and Kim Karli, voice of the firsts Dopplereffekt’s EPs. I think it is really difficult to cooperate musically, for me music – especially electronic – is a communication tool of the unconscious: for me a certain pattern means something, for someone else something totally different.

— Do you perform at festivals?
— Not at the moment, but I would like to perform live again.

— Your music is truly cosmic! What kind of hardware do you use for making it?
— Thank you. Instruments are not important. I use software and hardware: the result is the most important thing.

— Does music help you in everyday life?
— Absolutely yes, the chance to explore different worlds is the prerogative of music and fortunately these worlds are infinite.

Federico Leocata - Special for YooDj's

Federico Leocata — Special for YooDj’s


Федерико Леоката — итальянский аудиовизуальный художник.
Как визуальный художник выставлялся в Афинах, Салониках и Катании, затем расширил свои художественные исследования в области звука, основанные на анализе в рамках человеческой психики. Благодаря Генриху Мюллеру (Dopplereffekt, Drexciya) свой первый EP выпустил в 2010 году для бельгийского Weme, чем привлёк такие интересные лейблы, как Frustrated Funk and Last Known Trajectory. Федерико создаёт научные электронные синусоиды с тёмным звучанием и мелодичными рядами, его музыка отдаётся эхом в закоулках разума.
Его выступления состоят из живого шоу, где звук и видео работают в синергии.

— Привет, расскажи, пожалуйста, о себе и о своём увлечении музыкой, а именнно, как всё начиналось. Связано ли твоё образование с музыкой?
— Это был постепенный процесс: я приблизился к электронной музыке с самого раннего возраста, а затем перешел к композиции. У меня не было музыкального образования — музыкальная композиция была для меня чем-то спонтанным: я перешел от изобразительного искусства к визуальному, а позже я оказался в музыкальной индустрии благодаря Генриху Мюллеру.

— Расскажи, чем занят в данный момент, и что планируешь в ближайшем будущем?
— В следующем месяце будет выпущен новый трек для пятого «808 Box» Fundamental Records Алека Старка, видео будет онлайн 10 декабря. В марте будет выпущена часть EP на Snuffo’s In The Dark Again. Я работаю над новым проектом, к сожалению, я потерял много месяцев, работая для большого лейбла, который исчез: A&R хотел выпустить релиз, давая мне определенные музыкальные инструкции, это, конечно, убивает творчество.

— Есть у тебя любимые электронные музыканты и лейблы, чьё творчество тебя вдохновляет?
— Да, в особенности это Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, John Carpenter, Drexciya, Bjork, Heinrich Mueller.

— Принципиально ли для тебя, с какого носителя слушать? Обязательно ли это должен быть винил или это может быть цифровой формат? Коллекционируешь ли ты винил?
— Я предпочитаю такие физические носители, как винил и компакт-диски — я думаю, что каждая запись имеет свою историю, которую можно узнать, исходя из материальности упаковки и обложки. Мы живём в эпоху Spotify, музыка становится все более неосязаемой, легкодоступной, но цена за это — исчезновение магии.

— Расскажи поподробнее про свои видео, какова их идея и есть ли в них какой-то определённый посыл.
— Как я уже упоминал, у меня есть визуальная подоплека: для меня естественно выражать идею разными доступными способами. Прежде чем работать над проектом, я сосредотачиваюсь на концепции, которая связана с чем-то бессознательным и человеческим состоянием. Идея начинается с определенных обоснований, а её посыл субъективен.

— Есть ли у тебя опыт сотрудничества с какими-либо артистами?
— Только для вокала: Эмма де Сезе, Бета Эверс и Ким Карли, голос первых EP Dopplereffekt. Мне кажется, очень сложно сотрудничать в музыкальном плане, потому как для меня музыка — особенно электронная — является средством коммуникации бессознательного: ведь для меня определенная картина означает одно, а для кого-то другого совершенно другое.

— Выступаешь ли ты на фестивалях?
— В данный момент нет, но я хотел бы снова выступать вживую.

— Твоя музыка по-настоящему космическая! Какое оборудование ты используешь для её записи?
— Спасибо. Инструменты не важны. Я использую программное и аппаратное обеспечение: самое главное — результат.

— Помогает ли музыка тебе в повседневной жизни?
— Безусловно да, шанс исследовать различные миры является прерогативой музыки и, к счастью, эти миры бесконечны.