Raw Russian - Russian Girls Like Raw

Raw Russian – Russian Girls Like Raw


A new experiment from the russian cassette label Raw Russian which promotes unknown and only russian producers — a compilation entirely consisting of a beautiful half of humanity and their vision of modern Russian sound.

The label ideologist and founder Nikita Villeneuve assembled seven russian girls-producers and asked them only one question: «How do you describe your feelings from 90s and 00s in Russia in one track?»

«We stand for equal rights for women or we think about inequality problems — but in this compilation we just want to recall the past and remember both its good sides and the bad ones,» – says Villeneuve. – «And who except the girls can feel and convey all these emotions more strongly and brighter?»

Villeneuve also recalls the sexist attacks of the Giegling label: «This is obviously a dirty game and unskillful PR, or Constantine simply does not respect women, which is worse doubly».

One of the favorites of the coming compilation is the musician Galya Chikiss, who presented a monotonous and crude post-pop track, reminiscent of the early work of the HTRK.

Also among the participants: anonymous project labor from the Russian graffiti artist and musician; producer Sestrica, working only with the analog and trying to resurrect the “spiritual” techno in Russia; illustrator and pop-vocalist Masha Porez; designer and music experimenter Sonya Blade; a dark horse of the Russian female raw-house scene – Morana and mysterious and vague p.thepi, which created one of the most sensual music projects in Russia.

«I thought about creating this collection for about a year, but the circumstances and force majeure all the time prevented me from starting it.» – says Villeneuve. – «As if someone over there was against».

Like all previous releases of Raw Russian this compilation is released in a limited format: only 20 cassettes for true collectors and people who understand Russian sound.

Raw Russian - Russian Girls Like Raw

Raw Russian — Russian Girls Like Raw


Новый эксперимент от русского кассетного лейбла Raw Russian, продвигающего неизвестных и только российских продюсеров в массы — компиляция, целиком состоящая из прекрасной половины человечества и их видения современного российского звука.

Идеолог проекта Никита Вильнев собрал cемь росcийских девушек-продюсеров и задал им один вопрос: как вы опишите свои ощущения от 90х и нулевых в России одним треком?

«Мы выступаем за равные права женщин или думаем о проблемах неравенства — но в этой компиляции мы просто хотим вспомнить о прошлом и вспомнить как о хороших его сторонах, так и о плохих» — говорит Вильнев. — «И кто кроме девушек может сильнее и ярче прочувствовать и передать все эти эмоции?»

Также Вильнев вспоминает о сексистких выпадах лейбла Giegling: «Это явно грязная игра и неумелый пиар, либо Константин просто не уважает женщин, что хуже вдвойне».

Один из фаворитов сборника — музыкант Галя Чикис, представившая в этот раз монотонный и сырой пост-поп трек, напоминающий ранние работы HTRK.

Также среди участниц: проект labor, от анонимной российской граффити-художницы и музыканта; продюсер Sestrica, работающая только с аналогом и пытающаяся воскресить «душевное» техно в России; иллюстратор и вокалистка поп-проект Маша Порез; дизайнер и музыкальный экспериментатор Soft Blade; темная лошадка в российском женском роу-хаусе — Morana, и загадочная и туманная p.thepi, создавшая один из самых чувственных музыкальных проектов России.

«Я думал о создании этого сборника около года, но обстоятельства и форс-мажоры все время мешали дать ему жизнь» — говорит Вильнев. — «Как будто кто-то свыше был против».

Как и все предыдущие релизы Raw Russian, это компиляция выпускается в ограниченном формате: всего 20 кассет для истинных коллекционеров и людей, понимающих в русском звуке.