Roli - Special for YooDj's

Roli – Special for YooDj’s


Roli is a DJ, promoter, vinyl collector, future sound producer and just a very good person from Slovenia.

So, let’s start our enthralling conversation.

— Tell, please, about yourself and especially about your passion for electronic music.
— I’m a music passionate for as long as I can remember. It all started as a joy for listening to disco, pop, metal and then alternative, grunge to ending up in the electronic sphere. Hailing out of the ex YU territory, Slovenia, to be precise, where in the early 80’s there was not much chances to stumble across a lot of electronic music, unless on rare occasions hearing here and there some strange futuristic, outer space vibes and sounds as I recall. I’m sure that this was more or less Kraftwerk music, because everytime I hear them, I feel a kind of a flashback. Also luckily on the other hand that my hometown is located on the border with Italy, where at the time I could connect simultaneously with the western sounds and music cultures. There is a memory, fresh like it was yesterday, when I was a kid hearing the moaning vocals and hypnotic sounds on the timeless Mr. Fingers’s French kiss, airing on the local Italian radio called Radio Italia Network. Later came the 90’s and one day when I got home from school, they were airing some hardcore, Thunderdome or something like that that dropped my jaw down hearing it. I was like what the fuck is this? (laughs)… So to keep it short, this is kind of how my passion for this culture started. I owe much to that radio station that fed us with great music till this millennium, almost I guess.

— Very exciting story! And how did you start DJing and promoting electronic music?
— My first approach for a decade was as a raver, a party boy, going to raves and just having good times, exploring, listening to music and dancing. It was just accidentally that I began DJing, to be honest. Brother of my girlfriend at the time had some vinyls and a pair of Gemini turntables at their home, where I started spinning and doing my first mixing. Before I realised, I bought myself a second hand Pioneer DJM 500 mixer, a pair of brand new Technics SL1200 and Sennheiser HD25 headphones. Following that path, my first local appearances behind the boot begun, where it all spread to where I am now. Playing at some clubs in the region, so far as Slovenia, Croatia, Italy, Bosnia and Herzegovina… Also been a part of some local festivals like ECO Festival, Sajeta Festival, Kanegra Beach Festival in Croatia, sharing stages with known international artists, which gave some edge to my performance. My most cherished gigs so far were on the Dimensions Festival, held in an old fortress in the beautiful Croatian town named Pula. I am more than thrilled, I will be playing there this year again. I’d secretly like to think, it’s not a coincidence that Kraftwerk will be performing at the festival’s opening concert there, in the town’s Roman amphitheater.
Somewhere in between all of that I launched my own brand A/D (Analogue/Digital). Organizing some small party’s to promote regional artists with it and also a podcasts series, where I promote and share mixes from locals and artists from across the globe. Recently trying to drag my ass to a studio to produce some music on my own, but till now I just couldn’t manage the time to get to that. That is my biggest wish right now, which I intend to realize in the forthcoming future. That’s it for as far as I go at the moment. Hope you will enjoy this mix of mine, made specially for Yoodj’s.

— Which of the present musicians and labels could you highlight among the others and why?
— Uh, this is really hard, there are so many… I’ll try. Most of all I like the ones that really stand out (for innovating and breaking the boundaries of music and sound). I’m exclusively talking based on my personal taste when I’m talking about this. To point out few names, than it would be labels like Science Fiction Recordings, L.I.E.S., Pinkman, Restoration Records, Murder Capital, Bio Rhythm, Clone, Hemlock Recordings, Central Processing Unit, Livity Sound, Gravitational Waves, Diagonal Records… As for the artists, there are for example, Mick Wills, Traxx, Gesloten Cirkel, Powell, Helena Hauff, Objekt, Hodge, Randomer, DJ Nephil, Blawan, Identified Patient, Shit & Shine, The Exaltics, Tzusing, Matias Aguayo, Alleged Witches, Not Waving… There is no end to this. Must say though, if you really ask me who stand out the most and quite some time now, is Lena Willikens. She is really something from some other dimension.

— Is it important for you, from which media to listen to? Is it necessarily with vinyl, or can it be with digital media? Do you collect vinyl?
— Not really important, most of all I listen to the radio (web), other than that it’s more or less in digital. I’m always into something so most of all don’t have time to change records. While when I mix I prefer vinyl it is a much fulfilling experience on all levels… Digital has its own good side, there is so much music on digital, that i can satisfy my inner black hole about my taste and all the music I can get. I buy a lot of vinyl, but I think I can’t really label myself as a collector, or am I, I don’t know. Have to buy a few more I guess.

— Does music help you in everyday life?
— Of course it does, 3/4 of my day I’m surrounded by music playing. I would probably die without music. Life’s just better with music.

 

 

 

Tracklist:

Nick Klein – The party has been over
Sedvs – Ritual purity
Terrace – It’s out there
Do Or Die – Wills
Hinode – Untitled
DJ Nephil – Frid 17
Hinode – Untitled
O.Xander – Thru our veins
JP Enfant – Coronel
Third Side – Voyage to samothrace
Steinzeit – Wahrheit #2
Svreca & Voices from the lake – Between the lines
Crossing Avenue – Rimbalzo
Lucretio – Good words
Xenogears – First mission
Aubrey – Rodger dodger
Nobu – Spell
J.Tijn – Gut
Hodge & Randomer – Slipping (Kowton Rmx)
Unknown Artist – SSEN2008
Berk Offset – Anspieltipp
Terrace – Data tribe
Mark Hawkins – Dosmotreno

Roli - Special for YooDj's

Roli — Special for YooDj’s


Roli — диджей, промоутер, коллекционер винила, будущий саунд-продюсер и просто очень хороший человек из Словении.

Итак, начнём нашу захватывающую беседу.

— Расскажите, пожалуйста, о себе и, в особенности, о вашей страсти к электронной музыке.
— Я люблю музыку, сколько себя помню. Всё началось с банальной радости от прослушивания диско, поп, металла, потом альтернативы, гранжа, а закончилось в электронной сфере. Будучи родом из бывшей территории Югославии, Словении (если быть точным), где в начале 80-х годов было не так много шансов наткнуться на множество электронной музыки. Как я припоминаю, только в редких случаях можно было услышать странные, футуристические, космические вибрации и звуки. Я уверен, что это скорее всего была музыка Kraftwerk, потому что каждый раз, когда я её слышу сейчас, я ощущаю некоторого рода «флэшбэки». Но с другой стороны, к счастью, мой родной город находится на границе с Италией, где в то время я мог одновременно впитывать в себя звучание Запада и его музыкальную культуру. У меня есть воспоминание, столь свежее, как будто это было вчера: когда я был ребенком, я слушал стонущие вокалы и гипнотические звуки на как бы существовавшем вне времени «French kiss» мистера Фингера, транслировавшемся по местному итальянскому радио под названием Radio Italia Network. Позже, пришли 90-е, и однажды, когда я вернулся из школы, они транслировали какой-то хардкор, Thunderdome или что-то в этом роде, и надо сказать, это заставило мою челюсть просто отвиснуть, услышав это. Я подумал, что это за хрень такая? (смеётся). Короче говоря, вот так началась моя страсть к этой культуре. Я многим обязан той радиостанции, которая кормила нас отличной музыкой до начала этого тысячелетия, я думаю.

— Очень интересная история! А как вы начали заниматься диджеингом и продвижением электронной музыки?
— Мои первые попытки на протяжении десятилетия были в качестве рейвера и тусовщика. Я ходил на рейвы и просто хорошо проводил время, исследовал, слушал музыку и танцевал. Честно говоря, я совершенно случайно начал заниматься диджеингом. Брат моей подруги в то время имел несколько виниловых пластинок и пару вертушек Gemini у себя дома, там я и начал практиковаться и делать свои первые миксы. А до того, как я начал что-то в этом понимать, я купил себе второй микшер Pioneer DJM 500, пару совершенно новых наушников Technics SL1200 и Sennheiser HD25. Следуя этому пути, начались мои первые локальные появления, где всё это распространилось на меня, благодаря этому, я там, где я сейчас. Я играл в нескольких региональных клубах, а также в Словении, Хорватии, Италии, Боснии и Герцеговине… Также был частью некоторых местных фестивалей, таких как: ECO FestivalSajeta Festival, Kanegra Beach Festival в Хорватии, деля сцену с известными международными артистами, что дало некое преимущество моей работе. Мои самые заветные выступления до сих пор были на Dimensions Festival, который проходил в старой крепости в красивом хорватском городе по имени Пула. Я более чем в восторге, я буду играть там снова в этом году. Мне бы очень хотелось думать, что это не совпадение, что Kraftwerk будут выступать на церемонии открытия фестиваля там, в городском римском амфитеатре.
Где-то между всем этим я запустил свой собственный бренд A/D (Analogue/Digital). Я занимаюсь организацией небольших вечеринок для продвижения региональных артистов вместе с ним, а также серией подкастов, где я продвигаю и распространяю миксы от местных музыкантов и артистов со всего мира. Недавно я пытался затащить свой зад в студию, чтобы написать какую-нибудь музыку самостоятельно, но до сих пор я просто не мог выделить время для этого. Это моё самое большое желание прямо сейчас, которое я намерен реализовать в ближайшем будущем. Это всё, что я могу сделать в данный момент. Надеюсь, вам понравится мой микс, записанный специально для Yoodj’s.

— Кого из современных музыкантов и какие лейблы Вы могли бы выделить среди других и почему?
— Ох, это действительно сложно, их так много… Я попробую. Больше всего мне нравятся те, которые действительно выделяются (для новаторства и преодоления границ музыки и звука). Я следую исключительно своему личному вкусу, когда об этом говорю. Чтобы выделить несколько имён — пускай это будут такие лейблы, как: Science Fiction Recordings, L.I.E.S.PinkmanRestoration RecordsMurder CapitalBio RhythmCloneHemlock RecordingsCentral Processing UnitLivity SoundGravitational WavesDiagonal Records… Среди артистов хотелось бы отметить, например: Mick WillsTraxxGesloten CirkelPowellHelena HauffObjektHodgeRandomerDJ NephilBlawanIdentified PatientShit & ShineThe ExalticsTzusingMatias AguayoAlleged WitchesNot Waving…  и этому нет конца. Однако, должно быть, ну а если вы спросите меня, кто действительно больше всего выделяется, и уже довольно давно, то это Lena Willikens (Лена Вилликенс). Она действительно кто-то из другого измерения.

— Важно ли для Вас, с какого носителя слушать? Обязательно ли это должен быть винил, или это может быть цифровой формат? Коллекционируете ли Вы винил?
— На самом деле не столь важно, ведь больше всего я слушаю радио (в сети), а это, что-то более или менее цифровое. Я всегда во что-то ввязываюсь, поэтому не успеваю менять записи. Но в то время, когда я делаю миксы, я предпочитаю винил, это переполняющий опыт на всех уровнях… У digital есть своя хорошая сторона, ведь есть так много музыки в цифре, что я могу удовлетворить внутреннюю чёрную дыру своего вкуса всей той музыкой, которую могу заполучить. Я покупаю много винила, но мне кажется, я вряд ли могу себя назвать себя коллекционером, или могу, я не знаю. Нужно прикупить еще несколько, я думаю.

— Помогает ли Вам музыка в повседневной жизни?
— Конечно, помогает, ведь 3/4 моего дня — меня окружает музыка. Я, наверное, умру без музыки. Жизнь просто лучше с музыкой.

 

 

 

Tracklist:

Nick Klein — The party has been over
Sedvs — Ritual purity
Terrace — It’s out there
Do Or Die — Wills
Hinode — Untitled
DJ Nephil — Frid 17
Hinode — Untitled
O.Xander — Thru our veins
JP Enfant — Coronel
Third Side — Voyage to samothrace
Steinzeit — Wahrheit #2
Svreca & Voices from the lake — Between the lines
Crossing Avenue — Rimbalzo
Lucretio — Good words
Xenogears — First mission
Aubrey — Rodger dodger
Nobu — Spell
J.Tijn — Gut
Hodge & Randomer — Slipping (Kowton Rmx)
Unknown Artist — SSEN2008
Berk Offset — Anspieltipp
Terrace — Data tribe
Mark Hawkins — Dosmotreno