Sella Turcica - Special for YooDj's

Sella Turcica – Special for YooDj’s


My name is Laura Martini and I am playing under the alias Sella Turcica. I am a member of Fast Forward Productions and BunkerBauer from Copenhagen.

I am Romanian, but I have relocated to Copenhagen some years ago. Initially I belonged to a dubstep and drum & bass scene, going frequently to all the events. I was not playing out during those years, but I was recording mixes at home for platforms on SoundCloud, an activity I found deeply fulfilling. Later, after a year of rethinking my musical direction, I was intrigued by a prosperous techno scene, a dedicated community which is still continuously expanding. I joined and within this scene I also started DJing regularly.

For me DJing is about telling stories through music, weaving sounds and feelings, transporting the listeners through various emotional waters. At first, a direction I took was dark, introspective and ethereal, which I love to go back to, even now, when I am DJing heavier more club-oriented music. There is a realm words don’t really help me define, but the music I sought brought me there. Perhaps Gustave Doré’s illustrations for Dante’s Inferno are a close visual representation, but with the demonic factor dampened. After a cathartic darker dive, I like to bring the listeners back to a soothing beautiful optimistic vibe.

When DJing at clubs I like to play many non 4/4 techno productions, with breakbeat influences and heavier bass, most probably a continuation of my previous taste in electronic music. In fact, I am preparing to start playing dnb again, with focus on dark and experimental (like Horo, Samurai Music Group, UVB-76 Music).

In the near future, I want to focus more on production. DJRUM is the greatest inspiration. His storytelling is otherworldly.

Sella Turcica - Special for YooDj's

Sella Turcica — Special for YooDj’s


Меня зовут Лора Мартини, и я играю под псевдонимом Sella Turcica. Я являюсь членом Fast Forward Productions и BunkerBauer из Копенгагена.

Я из Румынии, но несколько лет назад я переехала в Копенгаген. Изначально я слушала дабстеп и драм-н-бэйс, частенько посещая все сопутствующие мероприятия. Я не играла в течение этих лет, но я записывал миксы дома для платформ на SoundCloud, и, надо сказать, эта деятельность приносила мне глубокое удовлетворение. Позже, после года переосмысления моего музыкального направления, я была заинтригована процветающей техно сценой и преданным ей сообществом, которое постоянно растет. Я присоединилась и начала заниматься диджейством.

Для меня диджеинг — это рассказ историй через музыку, переплетение звуков и чувств, перенос слушателей через различные эмоциональные потоки. Направление, которое я выбрала, было темным, интроспективным и неземным, к нему я люблю возвращаться даже сейчас, когда я играю более тяжелую клубную музыку. Есть целая куча слов, но на самом деле они не дадут определения, ведь музыка, которую я искала, привела меня сюда. Возможно, иллюстрации Гюстава Доре для Dante’s Inferno являются близким визуальным представлением, но с неким демоническим оттенком. После катарсического темного погружения мне нравится возвращать слушателей к успокаивающей красивой оптимистичной атмосфере.

Когда я диджею в клубах, по большей части я не играю 4/4 техно треки, а такие, где присутствует влияние брейкбита и тяжелого баса, скорее всего это продолжение моего предыдущего вкуса в электронной музыке. Фактически, я готовлюсь снова начать играть dnb, с акцентом на dark и experimental (например, Horo, Samurai Music Group, UVB-76 Music).

В ближайшем будущем я хочу больше сосредоточиться на производстве. DJRUM — для меня величайшее вдохновение. Его музыкальное повествование какое-то потустороннее.