Vanya Limb - Special for YooDj's

Vanya Limb – Special for YooDj’s

— Hello! For more than three years have passed since our first conversation, I would like to learn how to change your perception of the world during this time. What became easier in the musical plan, and what on the contrary began to demand greater efforts.
— Hi, Nastya! In general, the changes have affected both the creative and philosophical aspects of my life. I began to take more and more into account discipline and self-control. As for the music – now I’m just at the stage that the simple elements in the tracks becomes less.

— What are you working on now and what are you planning in the near future?
— At that moment, the work on the next release is under way – namely the second full-length album. Since the release of the previous LP it’s been three years already and it’s important for me to show myself and others the current level of my musical abilities and searches. In total, the work on the album has been going on for more than a year. If we talk about the timing of readiness, then I can say with confidence that a full-fledged premiere is announced at the beginning of next year.

— In which cities and at what events did you perform in the last year and where else would you like to go?
— It was a great year. I marked again in Moscow, first played in St. Petersburg, Izhevsk, Ufa. There were a number of interesting local events. Of unexplored places I am now very attracted to Ekaterinburg and I would return to Samara and Nizhny Novgorod.

— Did you have an experience of cooperation with any artists?
— I would like to note the collaboration with the St. Petersburg electronics engineer and my good friend Futurexia. Despite the past two years, I still love this EP and sometimes I return to it. There were several participations in VA. I’m very happy to play music on different instruments in the art group «ВШЫ», but it’s a completely different music.

— How would you describe your music and what kind of sound do you always strive for?
— I would not say that my music belongs to any specific genres and styles. In the context of my work, I prefer the term “experimental”. Although this word also contains a wide range of meanings, how else to describe musical freedom? I think that one of the examples of music that resonates with me is represented in the attached mix. And a kind of “absolute” of my sound will be just the next LP. I noticed that I am coming back to what is most influenced me – ambient and modern classics.

— What artists and which labels would you recommend to listen to?
— Now I do not listen to as much music as I used to, but I can tell you: Vincent Gallo, Burial, William Basinski, Nils Frahm, John Cage, Niсolas Jaar and Brian Eno. If you are not familiar with any of the bands and artists, then I highly recommend it. The labels that are recently on my ear are Posh Isolation, Ascetic House, Sacred Bones Records and Gost Zvuk Records.

— Describe what is happening on the independent scene in Russia. What are the positive and negative sides do you see?
— You can observe the positive dynamics. More and more young people are beginning to share their creativity. Leading media are interested in new names and the demand for regional scenes is growing. The problems remain the same. Alexei Nikitin (Nocow) in his extensive interview on the Mixmag highlighted the most significant: the attitude towards artists, their communication with each other and the lack of music grounds.

— What do you do besides music?
— Periodically, I do movies and start to draw more and more. Also I have long been interested in video art, performative art and street art. In some positions I participate as an initiator, but somewhere as a participant of projects. There is a lot like that, I try to combine everything. In fact, with adequate allocation of time you can be incredibly productive.

— Does music help you in everyday life?
— Music, like any other kind of art gives me a lot. It is not always important to be involved in anything and sometimes it’s worth staying a spectator and letting something to pass through yourself. In the endless attraction of digital noise, it’s not always easy to find something worthy. We constantly absorb a variety of information and this can not be stopped.

Vanya Limb - Special for YooDj's

Ваня Лимб — Special for YooDj’s


— Привет! С нашего первого разговора прошло уже более трёх лет, хотелось бы узнать, как изменилось твоё мироощущение за это время. Что стало проще в музыкальном плане, а что наоборот стало требовать больших усилий.
— Привет, Настя! В общем и целом, произошедшие изменения коснулись как творческих, так и мировоззренческих аспектов моей жизни. Я стал всё больше принимать во внимание дисциплину и самоконтроль. Что касается музыки — сейчас я как раз на том этапе, что простых элементов в треках становится всё меньше.

— Над чем работаешь сейчас и что планируешь в ближайшем будущем?
— Сейчас полным ходом идет работа над следующим релизом, а именно вторым полноформатным альбомом. С момента выхода предыдущего LP прошло уже три года и мне важно показать себе и другим нынешний уровень своих музыкальных способностей и поисков. В общей сложности работа над альбомом длится уже более года. Если говорить о сроках готовности, то с уверенностью скажу, что полноценная премьера заявлена на начало следующего года.

— В каких городах и на каких мероприятиях успел выступить за последний год и куда бы ещё хотел поехать?
— Это был отличный год. Снова отметился в Москве, впервые играл в Питере, Ижевске, Уфе. Был ряд интересных локальных мероприятий. Из неизведанных мест меня сейчас очень привлекает Екатеринбург, и я бы вернулся в Самару и Нижний Новгород.

— Появился ли у тебя опыт сотрудничества с какими-либо артистами?
— Хочется отметить коллаборацию с питерским электронщиком и моим хорошим другом Futurexia. Несмотря на прошедшие два года, я по-прежнему люблю этот EP и иногда к нему возвращаюсь. Было несколько участий в VA. Я с большим удовольствием музицирую на разных инструментах в составе арт-группы «ВШЫ», но это совсем другая музыка.

— Как бы ты сам описал свою музыку и к какому звучанию ты всегда стремишься?
— Я бы не стал говорить о принадлежности своей музыки к конкретным жанрам и стилям. В контексте своего творчества предпочитаю термин «экспериментальный». Хоть это слово и вмещает в себя широкий диапазон значений, но как иначе описать музыкальную свободу? Я думаю, что один из примеров резонирующей со мной музыки представлен в прикрепленном миксе. А своего рода «абсолютом» моего звучания будет как раз следующий LP. Заметил, что всё больше возвращаюсь к тому, что сильнее всего на меня повлияло – это эмбиент и современная классика.

— Каких музыкантов и какие лейблы ты бы рекомендовал к прослушиванию?
— Сейчас я слушаю не так много музыки, как раньше, однако могу выделить: Vincent Gallo, Burial, William Basinski, Nils Frahm, John Cage, Niсolas Jaar и Brian Eno. Если с кем-либо из групп и артистов вы ещё незнакомы, то я настоятельно рекомендую это сделать. Лейблы, которые в последнее время для меня на слуху это — Posh Isolation, Ascetic House, Sacred Bones Records и ГОСТ звук.

— Опиши происходящее на независимой сцене России. Какие положительные и отрицательные стороны ты видишь?
— Можно наблюдать положительную динамику. Все больше молодых ребят начинают делиться своим творчеством. Ведущие СМИ заинтересованы новыми именами и растёт спрос на региональные сцены. Проблемы при этом остаются те же. Алексей Никитин (Nocow) в своем большом интервью на Mixmag выделил самые весомые: отношение к артистам, их коммуникация между собой и нехватка площадок.

— Чем занимаешься помимо музыки?
— Периодически занимаюсь кино и начинаю всё больше рисовать. Также мне давно интересен видео-арт, перформативное искусство и стрит-арт. В некоторых позициях участвую как инициатор, а где-то как участник проектов. Подобного много, стараюсь всё совмещать. На самом деле при адекватном распределении времени можно быть безумно продуктивным.

— Помогает ли музыка тебе в повседневной жизни?
— Музыка, как и любой другой вид искусства мне даёт очень многое. Не всегда важно быть сопричастным к чему-либо и иногда стоит остаться зрителем и пропустить что-то через себя. В бесконечном аттракционе цифрового шума не всегда просто найти что-то достойное. Мы постоянно впитываем самую разную информацию и это уже не остановить.